Skip to main content

Hoover's Academic

Hoover's Academic

Use the following guide to search the Hoover’s Academic database through the EMCC Library. Hoover’s contains detailed reports on companies and industries and is a valuable source of directory and contact information. The database integrates both Hoover’s directory of over 84 million businesses worldwide and First Research Industry Reports providing in depth reports on over 900 top industries. 

This comprehensive database includes the following information:

 

  • Company Overview
  • Company History
  • Officers and Board Members
  • Competitors
  • Products and Operations
  • Auditors
  • Rankings
  • Related Industry Information
  • Historical Financials

 

Accessing Hoover’s 

Hoover’s may be accessed from here or from the EMCC Library website under the Find Articles, Books, Ebooks and Movies link and under the Business and Law section. Be sure to click on the Continue button in the center of the page. If you are trying to access the database from off campus you may need to login with your MEID and password first.

Searching

Hoover's main page features a Search box which enables you to search by company, people, industry or all categories. To change the search, simply click on the tabs above the search box.  The following are examples of different searches that can be conducted:

 

  • executives by name, alma mater, job title or company name
  • industries by name, product name, SIC code, or NAICS code
  • news by company name, executive name, product name, or ticker symbol

 

Search Tips

If you are searching for a topic that involves more than one keyword, (e.g. event planner or steve jobs) place “quotes” around your keywords like this:

“accounting assistant”

“steve jobs”

This will give you more specific search results.

Build a List

The Build a list feature can generate a list of companies based on geographic location, number of employees, financial data, industry and other criteria. Choose the Build a List feature from the tab at the top of the beginning search page or from the Build a List section directly below the search box. Simply choose the criteria that interest you and select View Results.

Online Training Videos

Click here to view Hoover's online training videos. 

Printing & Emailing 

Printing and emailing features are located under the My Tools section in the upper right side of the page. To print a page, mouse over the More Tools section and you will see the Print Preview and Email This Page option.  You may also select the Print Quick Report Option.