The African American Resources Page (AARP) is a tool to aid you in researching African American topics. AARP defines African Americans as persons having origins in any of the Black racial groups of Africa living in North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean Islands.
The best way to find books, movies and music relating to African Americans is to search the EMCC library catalog. It is important to use the subject heading African American in your search.
Combine this subject heading with specific areas of interest such as civil rights, women, art, literature, ethnic identity, politics or culture to narrow your search. Two examples would be:
African American women
African American literature
The collection includes hundreds of books and media on African American heritage, culture, arts and history. These are a sampling of titles:
Bright Boulevards, Bold Dreams: The Story of Black Hollywood
Harlem Renaissance: Art of Black America
The Real Lives of Strong Black Women: Transcending Myths, Reclaiming Joy
Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun
The Coltrane Legacy
In addition, the reference collection includes titles such as, Notable African American Writers, the African American National Biography and the Encyclopedia of African American History.
The African American Experience: The African American Experience (AAE) focuses on the history and culture of African Americans living in the United States. Coverage draws from over 400 volumes and ranges from African origins to the present day.
American Slave Narratives: Slave narratives provide first-person accounts of the lives of fugitive or former slaves. This resource provides links to several key slave narratives that are available through Project Gutenburg. Search keyword American Slave Narratives in the online book catalog.
EBSCOhost eBooks: The EBSCOhost eBooks electronic book collection covers a broad range of academic topics from a mix of professional and university presses. Titles include, Children's Literature of the Harlem Renaissance, African American Experience: An Historiographical & Bibliographical Guide and the Encyclopedia of African American Business.
Ethnic Newswatch: Articles reflecting ethnic, minority and native viewpoints.
EBSCOhost: Thousands of articles on a full range of topics are available under the subject heading "African Americans".
Academic OneFile + General OneFile: Thousands of articles on a full range of topics are available under the subject heading "African Americans".
JSTOR: This database offers access to journals in the area of African American Studies, including The African American Review, Journal of Black Studies and The Journal of African American History.