In the academic world, students are often asked to present a point of view on a topic and back it up with evidence that supports it; this is the essence of an academic argument. Researching to find appropriate support can seem overwhelming, but this brief guide will give you some pointers to help you get started.
Understand your topic: You may have been given a topic for your argument; this can help you to focus your research. If you are not confident that you fully understand your topic, you should do some preliminary reading before you begin researching. Encyclopedias can help you learn about your topic. Encyclopedias are not generally considered appropriate sources, but they can help you become more familiar with your topic. The Credo Reference Database contains millions of entries from encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Opposing Viewpoints contains topic overviews, pro/con articles from books, academic journals, magazines and newspapers. In addition you will find statistics, primary documents and links to vetted web sites.
CQ Researcher reports on current and controversial issues with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Use what you’ve learned from your preliminary research to select a narrow and manageable argumentative focus (don’t try to cover a huge topic like illegal immigration if you are only writing a two-page paper, for example.)
Search the catalog to locate books.
Examples of books that can be useful when writing an argument paper include:
Opposing Viewpoints Series
Books from this series contain articles from varying viewpoints on current and controversial topics. Click here to view an example of a book from this series.
Information Plus Series
This information series highlights current topics. Click here to view an example of a book from this series.
Taking Sides Series
Books in this series present pro and con essays on current events from experts in the field.
Click here to view an example of a book from this series.
Search the databases for articles from journals, newspapers and magazines.
Films On Demand Streaming Videos allows you to view thousands of online videos right from your computer.